Skip to content ↓

FURTHER EDUCATION 16+

With the change in the law and the Raising of the Participation Age to 18, all young people must remain in some form of education and/training up to the age of 18.

If you are thinking of staying on in sixth form, or going to another sixth form or college, then you are beginning Further Education. 

6th Form/College Open Days 

Loughborough College- Wednesday 5th December 2018- 4.00pm-7.00pm 

Melton Vale Sixth Form College (MV16)- Guided Tours starting on Monday 14th January 2019.                     Please click on the following link to book a place https://.mv16.org.uk/open.php 

Harington School- Tuesday 9th October 2018. If you are unable to attend the Open Evening event and wish to visit the School, you can contact them on 01572 772 579 or via email [email protected] to arrange a tour. 

Grantham College- Thursday 31st January 2019 (5.00pm-8.00pm), Tuesday 19th March 2019 (5.00pm-8.00pm), and Thursday 2nd May 2019 (5.00pm-8.00pm)

Wyggeston and Queen Elizabeth I- Saturday 10th November 2018. If you are unable to attend the Open Day, and wish to look around the college, you can contact their admission team via email                            [email protected] , who can arrange a college tour. 

Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies- Thursday 24th January 2019 (5.00pm-8.00pm) and               Thursday 21st March 2019 (5.00pm-8.00pm). Please click on the following link to book a place https://confetti.ac.uk/open-days/

Brooksby College- Please click on the following link, for a full list of their Open Days https://he.brooksbymelton.ac.uk/our-offer/open-days/ 

Leicester College- Saturday 24th November 2018 (11.00am-3.00pm), Friday 11th January 2019, Friday 1st February 2019, Friday 1st March 2019, Friday 5th April 2019, Friday 3rd May 2019, Friday 7th June 2019. Please click on the following link to register https://leicestercollege.ac.uk/about/news-and-events/events/

Nottingham College- January 2019 Open Dates will be available shortly. Please click on the following link to book a place https://www.nottinghamcollege.ac.uk/study/events/open-days

Walton Girls High School and Sixth Form- Thursday 27th September 2018 (5.30pm-8.00pm). If you are unable to attend the Open Evening, and wish to look around the college, you can contact them on            01476 563251 to arrange a talk and tour.  

Gateway College- Saturday 3rd November 2018 (10am-1.00pm and Tuesday 27th November 2018 (5.00pm-7.00pm). If you are unable to attend their Open Day or would like a second visit, please contact their Student Services team on 0116 274 4500 to book a tour.  

 

Taster Sessions

Brooksby Campus Taster Sessions

0900-1300- Saturday 2nd March 2019

0900-1300- Saturday 22nd June 2019

 

Melton Campus Taster Sessions

0900-1300- Saturday 26th January 2019

0900-1300- Saturday 22nd June 2019

Register your attendance ASAP by visiting; www.brooksbymelton.ac.uk/events

 

Thinking of going to university at 18?

You will need to consider your Post-16 courses very carefully.  Be aware that the subjects you choose at 16 will have an affect on the courses that you can choose to study at 18.

UCAS, the Universities Clearing and Admission Service, offers students a new advice portal to support young people in their Post-16 decision-making – https://www.ucas.com/ucas/after-gcses